My name is Angelina Dreem

1) Please briefly state who you are and what you “do”
My name is Angelina Dreem
I’m an artist and weirdo
I bring people together for projects and have fun. I split my time between a romantic relationship with my computer and a cosmic relationship with the whole universe.
angie

 

2) Please describe your new project POWRPLANT

Powrplnt is my answer to a digital divide that I see happening within public society. Powrplnt aims to set up computer labs in areas that may not have access to creative software, computers, and mentors. The goal is to inspire young people, to show them the plethora of creative avenues for artists in the modern age, and to give them hand-on experience with professional software.
Artists are no longer constrained to the paintbrush, there are so many more ways to express oneself through video, digital photography, blogging, 3D rendering, etc but unfortunately, the software and computers are cost prohibitive which is why I decided to create a business model based on opening accessibility to all. 

 

So we are starting our first summer session in Bushwick (the land of dreams) at 1196 Myrtle Avenue in a new space called Stream Gallery. We will operate out of here for 3 months, including showing 3 openings and teaching 8 weeks of free courses to Bushwick youth. 

 

When classes are not in session it will operate as a sliding scale workspace where anyone can become a member and use the facilities.

home _banner _template

 

3) Living in a world surrounded by technology, how do you think people can embrace the future and reality of this technological world without losing sight of living in the moment loving nature?

I think that this is an important battle that we need to fight to realize. I believe that we are still in the First Generation wave of technology. The next generation of computers, mobile devices etc, will be way more interactive and intuitive. Google glasses are just an experiment in how people will react to technology becoming a part of ourselves. I think that technology is an extension of our humanity and the more we can design it to work with us, versus outside of us, we will see its incorporation into our “natural” environment. I detest using the word “natural” and “unnatural” I think that technology can bring us even closer to nature, which is why POWRPLNT is hosting an aquaponics installation by Verticulture, a Bushwick based startup. The “nature” that we romantisize has been influenced and manipulated by humans over and over again, it is our job to use what we have learned to encourage green space and propogate intelligent design techniques as the creators of our environments.

BLOOD SHOES

 

4) Do you see artists within your art community dealing with death and immortality in such a digital age?

I DONT UNDERSTAND THIS QUESTION
The avatar lives forever..

 

5) Do you think that there is exists a, perhaps subconscious, belief that  in order for one to feel “actualized, real, alive” one needs to be “seen” on a grand scale, (for example have multiple views/likes via instagram, youtube etc)?

I’ve been dealing with this recently as I transition from a more “party girl” aesthetic to a more “take me seriously im starting a non-profit” vibe. I am reminded again and again that as long as you are true to your path and your mission then the attention currency, and its rewards come secondary to seeing the relationships and results that your energy is fostering. I know that my ego gets excited whenever I have a new follower, and that I am constantly seeing who is double tapping my shit… but I have more respect for the artist that continues on their path whether or not the are being validated from their networks. I do think that if you want your message to be heard, the web platforms that are available make it accessible to reach all the people you want to reach, and if what you are saying is worth being heard, with a little effort, you will get there. 
ang

 

6) Do you think social media such as instagram and facebook make people loose sight of true communication and friendship, or that we must redefine communication in light of technological changes?

Communication and friendship are reinforced on these platforms. We communicate at a faster rate and with more people. I have a personality that many of my “friends” haven’t been able to see in real life, but they can feel it! I also know from experience that it makes these friendships stronger, and when we do connect in real life (which we do!) it feels like we can just jump into being present, versus catching up on the past. I am looking forward to holographic meetups! I began texting my dad, which means we say hi more often then the pressure of having a phone conversation. I don’t think we are losing sight of anything, as long as we can remember to be present when presence is available!

 

7) How does it feel to know that your artwork will outlive you?

As an artist, a lover, and a liver, I know that the only way to freeze time is to make art. Art is the only way to take feelings and experiences outside of your human existence and share it with others. I hope that the servers don’t crash and that my tumblr lives on. I hope that internet freedom laws ensure that subversive material is not deleted. I hope that I can be present and share what I know with others, and in young people our ideas can live

Leave a Reply

